Oh, Brian. Pt 2. (aka Oh, Howie, Nick, AJ, Danny, Jordan, Jonathan, Joey, and Donnie too!)

Just a little over a month ago, I posted the first installment of “Oh, Brian”. I was seriously concerned by Brian Littrell’s loss of vocal prowess, and worried how it would affect the NKOTBSB tour.

There was never supposed to be a part 2. But, after seeing the NKOTBSB tour live in Tacoma last night, I can most assuredly say that there is. And it has nothing to do with Brian’s vocals.

Before anything else, my feedback on the show: it was fantastic. I’ve never been in an arena where the performers were so genuinely thrilled to see their fans, and they gave at least 250% to make the show incredible. They performed for 2-1/2 solid hours without reprieve. They never ran out of energy, never made the show feel like a chore. We’re talking about 9 guys here, most of them officially “middle-aged”. An hour would have been impressive. But 2 and a half times that much? You’d never know these guys weren’t still in their teens.

I’ll admit I did cry a little, and grinned like an idiot the entire time. It was a blast. (One of my personal highlights: BSB performed “Drowning”, the bonus track off their “Greatest Hits: Chapter One” album, which is by far my fave BSB ballad. I was not expecting that. ❤ Loooove.) The encore mash-up of “Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)” and “Hangin’ Tough” was also amazing. So much energy, and confetti to boot!

I honestly couldn’t tell you if Brian’s vocals were up to par – the volume was cranked so freaking loud (and every woman in the arena, myself included, was singing at the top of her lungs) that after a while, everything sounded like high-octane fuzz. But I didn’t hear a bad note the entire night, so I was thrilled. (Though no BSBer could come close to the notes hit by Joey McIntyre and Jordan Knight…..sheeeeeiiiiit, I teared up at some of them! Falsetto heaven!)

The show was everything I expected, and actually, much more. These guys went all out, and it was a high-energy blast from start to finish.

The best part, however, came after the show.

See the fellow highlighted in the picture below? Yep, that’s Mr. Brian Littrell. (I cannot take credit for this picture! Full credit and ownership goes to Annika Petrossian!)

In the wee hours of the morning, as I strolled near the Tacoma Dome in search of an available cab, what should happen to roll by me but a big tour bus. And who should I happen to see sitting just inside the door of that tour bus but cutie-faced Mr. Brian Littrell himself!

I’m not gonna lie, I walked right by without stopping. Then the realization hit me with a jolt, and I double-taked. It was him, without a doubt. Brian was looking right at me as I (literally) walked backwards with my jaw open. I gave him a shy little wave. He smiled and waved back. In a sheer state of disbelief, I blew him a kiss and watched as he blew one right back.

Not wanting to press my luck or find out this was somehow a dream, I clasped my hand to my heart, flashed an “I love you” hand sign at the bus (in case any other BSB-ers happened to be behind those tinted windows!) and walked away.

It. Was. Awesome.

Had this happened in a crowd of screaming women, hollering and waving at the bus, it would have been a cool experience, but not all that special. But it happened with NO ONE ELSE around. Not a single person, just me. I was dumbstruck and elated.

So forget everything I said about Brian’s vocals – it doesn’t matter. I wouldn’t give a flying flip if he’d had his voice box removed at this point. The point is, I got to have one teeny little moment when I felt like I was on top of the world, all thanks to him.

Forget VIP passes, sound checks, and backstage cattle lines. One split-second, unscripted moment made my night.

Oh, Brian.

Thanks. 🙂

One comment on “Oh, Brian. Pt 2. (aka Oh, Howie, Nick, AJ, Danny, Jordan, Jonathan, Joey, and Donnie too!)

  1. benwashisnameo says:

    It. Was. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

