Douche or Delight ~ Vol. 5

Douche or Delight?

 

Douche.

 

Cigarette Butts

I consider myself a fairly tolerant person when it comes to others’ personal and lifestyle choices. If it’s not affecting anyone else, who cares? But smoking is one lifestyle decision that strikes a constant nerve with me. Let it be known – I am a smoker. I don’t smoke every day, but I’m a casual cigarette-with-a-drink and/or social smoker. This may seem like a hypocritical choice for douche or delight, but I beg you to read on. See, when I smoke, I am vividly conscious of how it’s affecting others. If there are non-smokers present, I do my best to smoke away from them and downwind. Many full-time smokers are not so considerate.

What’s quickly becoming one of my biggest pet peeves, however, is cigarette butts. I want to know who decided that leaving the butt of a cigarette on the ground is acceptable etiquette? If we really allow this to happen on a regular basis, that mentality would indicate I can just leave a Diet Coke can on the ground when I’m done with it, right?

It makes no sense.

I understand the cigarette has to be put out somehow, and the natural choice is asphalt or a similar surface that won’t catch fire. But are we really so lazy that we can’t clasp the cigarette between our fingers long enough to stand back up, then walk it to an ashtray or trash can?

I’d like to make a suggestion. If you’re a smoker who normally leaves butts strewn on the ground, try carrying an empty Altoids tin with you. (They now make “Altoids Smalls” and the tin is about half the size of the normal one.) When you put out a cigarette, toss it in the tin, and the next time you see a trash can, empty the tin. It’s like a tiny ashtray on the go. There’s really no acceptable reason for a cigarette butt to be left on the ground, ever.  

What our society has done is make cigarette butts a socially acceptable form of litter. But, let’s face it: any kind of litter is always a douche

What will pop up on my list next time?

Nobody knows…

Leave a Reply

