Playlist du jour.

I love it when I feel like I’m stuck in a musical rut, and then it just……shatters. Suddenly, amazing music flows in from every angle. Even songs that I’ve known and/or liked forever seem to adapt new meaning. This is usually a direct reflection of my emotional moods; which one influences the other, however, is the real question.

Coldplay ~ “Lovers In Japan”

My sister recently tried to tell me that Coldplay is better than Muse. Er…okay. That’s one of the bullshit comparisons I hate. It’s the same as Harry Potter versus Twilight, the Beatles versus the Stones, chocolate versus vanilla – I mean, they’re both fuckin’ delicious ice cream, are they not?! And, really. You can’t pit two bands against each other simply because they’re British and they both play music. It makes no sense. Coldplay and Muse are vastly different, and they appeal to vastly different audiences. Unless, of course, you’re me. I love them both. (But if we’re using ice cream references, Muse is Ben & Jerry’s “Everything But The…” to Coldplay’s plain vanilla, IMHO.)

Anyway! Now that I’ve got that off my chest…the first song I’m diggin’ this week:

 

Demi Lovato ~ “Unbroken”

My girl is back, and she’s better than ever. ‘Nuff said. (Also, screw the fact that every time an album I’m dying for comes out, it’s the week I’m flat broke. Damn YouTube and their slightly-sped-up versions to avoid copyright infringement. Whatev. This song still rocks, even at an altered speed.) Love you Demi! ❤

 

Daft Punk ~ “Derezzed”

For someone who loves meaningful lyrics and passionately-composed music, I should probably be ashamed that I love any form of  house music whatsoever. But I do. I ❤ Daft Punk. Back when I found out they were going to be composing the TRON: Legacy soundtrack, I nearly passed out from sheer bliss.

 

Creedence Clearwater Revival ~ “Commotion”

CCR was one of the bands that changed my life as a teenager. Forget the fact that I wasn’t even a twinkle in anyone’s eye when these songs were recorded. Time means nothing when it comes to music…especially when it comes to great music.

 

Kelly Clarkson ~ “Mr. Know It All”

I am notorious for disliking American Idol winners. I didn’t start watching until the second season, so I missed the crowning of Ms. Kelly Clarkson, but since then the only winner I’ve been 100% behind was David Cook. So, yeah. Kelly and David. That’s about it for me. I can’t stand any of the other winners, for various reasons. Some of them, because I couldn’t stand them from the beginning (*cough* Fantasia *cough*). Some of them, because they inexplicably beat out people a thousand times more talented than themselves. (Sorry, Taylor Hicks, but…really?! I threw a shoe at the TV when Chris Daughtry was voted off!) Anyway, I digress.

Kelly? Still LOVE. And this song is my theme song of the moment. A-freaking-men.

 

Robbie Williams ~ “Come Undone”

I can’t tell you how many Robbie songs I could have put in this spot. I must have changed it five or six times before just leaving it the way it was. Suffice it to say, I am in a Robbie Williams phase. (Okay, there’s never really a time when I’m not in a Robbie Williams phase.) His voice is lovely, and thinking about his infectious smile automatically makes me smile. It’s probably a good thing I didn’t know he existed when I was a teenager, or I would have run away to the U.K. (I wish that were an exaggeration…) Plus, he’s one of those people I admire because he used to be pretty fucked up. Anyone who has overcome personal demons gets extra points in my book.

 

Okay, screw it…I’m posting a second Robbie song. So there.

 

Robbie Williams ~ “Jesus In A Camper Van”

 

Pink Floyd ~ “Echoes”

Oh, what is there to say about Pink Floyd? Nothing, really. There aren’t words enough. It’s better to shut the hell up and listen. “Echoes” is one of my absolute faves. Just…genius beyond genius. And if you can’t commit to the whole thing? Don’t bother.

 

Muse ~ “Knights Of Cydonia”

What, you didn’t think I was going to let Coldplay steal all the glory, did you?! Psh. Puh-leeeez.

I even posted the live version of this song, because…well, it’s fucking BETTER than the recording. Oh, gawd. I can’t handle it. To think that this happened at Wembley in 2007 (as well as Take That’s “Beautiful World” tour – insert high-pitched squealing here), while I slaved my life away at a dumbass movie theater for eight bucks an hour? FML. Where’s a time machine when you need it??

 

Happy October, folks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

